Throwback Thursday: Thailand Edition

It’s been 3 years since I first took the plunge and booked myself a solo trip to Thailand. It was my first time being overseas, my first trip longer than 5 days… I had no clue what I was getting myself into. Luckily, companies like Contiki make it easy for first time travelers, especially those going solo.

I chose the Thai Island Hopper West. Now I’m not going to say I went to the western islands because of the movie The Beach, but Maya Bay did play a big role in deciding which tour to take.

banana nutella pancakes, yummy!

It was so simple. Log onto the website, browse through the tours, and book. There’s forums and reviews which makes for good reads if you’re unsure where to go, how long to go, and what to do. Contiki provides so many great inclusive excursions and meals, but they also allow you to choose many optional excursions. For my tour, those options were a boat cruise to James Bond island, boat cruise to Maya Bay, and an elephant trek (which I believe they no longer participate in, thankfully).

Contiki is great because it caters to anyone and everyone. Want to do it all and see it all? Try their High Energy tours. You’ll hit a lot of major cities in a short amount of time. Or perhaps you’re more interested in an in-depth look at one particular country – take a look at their in-depth tours. If you want a very chill, laid back, beach type of holiday without the barriers of an all-inclusive resort, try their Asian easy pace tours. A variety of tours for different budgets and travel styles.

If you’re scared of traveling solo, Contiki’s got you covered! You’ll meet tons of like-minded travelers from around the world. You can opt for a solo room or if you’re up for it, get a twin room. You’ll most likely make a life-long friend. If not? Then hey, at least you’ll have a great story to tell!

Leave a Reply

