Lisbon: Day 1

My flight to Lisbon started out fantastically. I flew with Air Transat on a huge Airbus-330. I got to my seat and someone was already in it. Not a problem, she had the wrong seat. The awesome part? There was nobody in the middle seat. Wooooo, more leg room. I did not sleep a wink, unfortunately. I did however, watch the movie “The Longest Ride,” starring Clint Eastwood’s babe of a son, Scott. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I’m a sucker for cheesy, Nicholas Sparks types of movies.
I landed in Lisbon at around 10am local time, which is 5 hours ahead of Toronto. Oy vey. Not only was jetlag a bitch but I have trouble sleeping in the first place.

Surprisingly I made it to my hostel using the metro with no problems at all. One of the easiest transit systems to use. I’m impressed, Lisbon.


I’m staying at the Old Town Hostel. I’m in an 8-person dorm room. It’s co-ed. I’ve never stayed in a co-ed room before, but it’s not that much different. The vibe of this hostel is very chill. It’s not a party hostel by any means. I’m okay with that though, as party hostels tend to be loud and obnoxious.

I went to dinner at Planeta dos Temperos.

Rua Poco Dos Negros, 197 1200-338, Lisbon, Portugal

It’s a small restaurant located on a side street. I passed by the menu and was intrigued. I ordered the grilled sea bass. It came with roasted potatoes and salad.

How perfect does that look??? I’m not the best at eating whole fish. I’m not a classy or elegant eater, but it was grilled to perfection. For €8, I’d say it was worth it. The wait staff was this little, old man whose English wasn’t perfect (and obviously my Portuguese is nowhere near acceptable), but we managed to meet halfway. Very cute, smaller place that I would absolutely recommend. The wine was also delicious. Oh, and they have free wifi!  5/5 !

Leave a Reply

