Where I Want To Venture Off To Next pt.1

There are so many places in the world that I’d love to see, both far away, and right in my own country. Like many people, I have a travel bucket list. Although I’d love to (and hope to!) see as many cities, countries, and sights as possible in my lifetime, I do have some places that are dear to my heart. These are places that I’ve dreamt of exploring for so long. Here is part 1 of that list. In no particular order…

  1. CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA
  2. MOAB, UTAH, U.S.A.
  3. WEST YELLOWSTONE, MONTANAU.S.A.
  4. PATAGONIA, ARGENTINA/CHILE
  5. SANTORINIGREECE

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA

The capital city of South Africa is no stranger to tourism and there’s no question why. With stunning views, incredible beaches, wine, hiking and much more, it’s no wonder Cape Town is regarded as Tavern of the Seas.

Interested in a scenic road trip? Take a drive along the coast, on Chapman’s Peak Drive. You’ll see winding roads, with the sea below you and mountains that tower over you. Along the way you can stop to enjoy a nice picnic or just take in the views.

If you’re a wine lover like me, you’re in luck. Cape Town has many wineries for you to indulge in some wine tastings. Check out Constantia Valley for all of your delicious wine needs.

And of course, who can forget one of the best things Cape Town has to offer… none other than Table Mountain.

stockvault-table-mountain-scenery---hdr133515

MOAB, UTAH, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

I’m sure when you think of Utah, you think Salt Lake City… which makes me think of the 2002 Winter Olympics and how much I wanted to be a figure skater when I was younger. I’m getting off topic.

Moab, located about 233 miles east of Salt Lake City in the Western United States, is very near to not one, but two National Parks. Are you kidding me?! Arches National Park has over 2000 stone arches. The erosion from the underground salt bed which the park lays atop of is the main cause of arch formation from the sandstone. Neat huh? Maybe I’m just fascinated by large rocks because many of the areas I want to visit, have mountains or boulders or strange rocks jutting out, surrounded by a plethora of turquoise water.

There’s also quite a variety of wildlife in the park. So if you’re lucky, you may spot a red fox or the cutest thing I’ve googled today, a kangaroo rat. How cute is that thing?

Image courtest of puttsk at freedigitalphotos.net
Image courtesy of puttsk at freedigitalphotos.net

We can’t forget about Canyonlands National Park. Taken from their website:

Known as a “high desert,” with elevations ranging from 3,700 to 7,200 feet above sea level, Canyonlands experiences very hot summers and cold winters, and receives less than ten inches of rain each year. Even on a daily basis, temperatures may fluctuate as much as 50 degrees.

Wicked cool! Like Arches, Canyonlands has a lot of eroded rocks, forming canyons and gorges. Also similar to Arches is the variety in wildlife. There are even bobcats and coyotes. I wouldn’t want to be face to face with any of those, though.

WEST YELLOWSTONE, MONTANA, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

I think my real reason for wanting to go to Montana is because I want to live out my 6-year-old fantasy of living with Tristan Ludlow (Brad Pitt’s character in Legends of the Fall). In my defense, he was very pretty in that movie. But I digress.

Again with the National Parks, eh? Yellowstone National Park has everything you want and need in a park.

You like rivers? Check.

You like canyons? Check.

How about wildlife such as bison or bears? Check.

Hot Springs? You got it.

And of course, good ol’ geysers like Old Faithful… check check check.

Image courtesy of Valentin Lyakhovich via flickr
Image courtesy of Valentin Lyakhovich via flickr

Now that is an incredible view.

PATAGONIA, CHILE/ARGENTINA

Patagonia is an area that up until about a year ago, I was not all too familiar with. It wasn’t until I started following Jedidiah Jenkins on social media (who btw, you have to follow because his writing is full of life and soul and his journey from Oregon to Patagonia is so inspiring!).

Here’s what Wikipedia says about Patagonia:

The Patagonia region encompasses the vast southernmost tip of South America, shared by Argentina and Chile, with the Andes as its dividing line. The Argentine side features arid steppes, grasslands and deserts, while the Chilean has glacial fjords and temperate rainforest.

Now do I have the proverbial “balls” to hop on a bike and cruise down the roads towards the bottom of the Earth? Well, no… but I would give anything to be able to witness the stunning views that Torres del Paine (English version) has to offer. Surprise, surprise, it’s another National Park. (Maybe this post should’ve been Top National Parks I’d Like to Visit???) Torres del Paine is located on the Chilean side of Patagonia. It is a glacier wonderland. Once you’re there, you can hike, go fly fishing, kayak, mountain climbing, and even horseback riding. Of course in between all of these things, camping is available. And who wouldn’t want to camp underneath the stars in one of the most underrated, beautiful places on Earth.

If camping is not your strong suit, there are many options available, including: cabins, refuges with simple beds (where you bring your own sleeping bag) or made up beds, tents, etc. The prices for both low and high season are relatively inexpensive.

Image courtesy of ashokboghani via flickr
Image courtesy of ashokboghani via flickr

Definite heart eye emoji moment. Am I right?

Last but certainly not least…

SANTORINI, GREECE

I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who doesn’t have Santorini on their travel bucket list. It’s pretty obvious why. Why yes, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants’ exterior shots did lure me in, how did you know? The island is known for being a romantic destination, often for those on their honeymoon.

There are tons of wine tours (cha-ching!) Check out SigalasVenetsanos or Gaia wineries for tasting info. I mean, wine not? (I’ll stop)

From catching unbeatable sunset views in Oia, walking from Fira to Oia, sailing along the Aegean sea (the sea temp. is pretty warm in the summer!), to riding a cable car (I couldn’t bear to ride the donkeys – I find it cruel)… there is an abundance of things to do and see while in Santorini.

And hopefully maybe I’ll meet a handsome, Greek man with a penchant for tattooed, Canadian girls. We’ll get married and I’ll never have to leave the island. It could happen, right? Right? 

Image courtesy of Maggie Meng via flickr
Image courtesy of Maggie Meng via flickr

Thanks for reading!

Any places you’d like to share with me that are on your travel bucket list? Share them in the comments below!

blogpostend

One thought on “Where I Want To Venture Off To Next pt.1

Leave a Reply

